Art Sponge


Fleet Foxes
June 10, 2009, 3:57 pm
Filed under: Music | Tags: , , , , ,

Damn it’s been long since I did a post on music, I guess I just got all caught up on wanting to post nice stuff on yayeveryday.com and kind of neglected putting tunes up here too :)

Anyways, this post is about a band I recently discovered and have really enjoyed listening to. I think the first time I heard about them was when I discovered a cover by the two lovely girls of First Aid Kit (its beautiful, don’t miss it). They were singing the Tiger Mountain Peasant Song. I’ve now listened to the original a good dozen times and I’m not stopping now:

I find this particular song to be quite apart from the rest of the album Fleet Foxes because the lead singer Robin Pecknold plays it alone with an acoustic guitar. Which gives the song a slightly naked (but beautiful) sound compared to the other songs where the five-piece band brings on the full set of instruments and three more voices. The rest of the album is just as good but has more of an imposing harmony to it.

- White Winter Hymnal
- Ragged Wood

All in all, great sound, great music. I know this is more a photography blog, but I’d like to put up some great graphic design work too that Richard Carey has done for this band’s vinyl cover (which I found over on Change The Thought):

Finally if you think I’ve made a mess of music posts and still want photography inspiration, well Bennie from Creative Output has a nice little treat for you. In Square and Circle you’ll find pictures of women in underwear, half shaven sheep, little gingers and angry indigenous people. Great photography basically :)


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Simply loved the first song with the acoustic guitar. Beauuutiful!! And much appreciated the others too. Thanks, Patrick.

Comment by Katia




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

