Art Sponge


Eels
April 4, 2009, 12:35 pm
Filed under: Music | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I can’t remember the first time I listened to the Eels, I feel like they’ve always been there on my ipod. Every time I put my stuff on shuffle I’m sure to have some Eels come up, and its always a pleasure. E or Mark Oliver Everett is the writer and composer of the Eels band, he’s lived quite a turbulent life and you can feel it in his music. Especially in Electro-shock Blues his second album where you can find most of his song coming back to suicide, death, and cancer. The great musical material accompanying these somber lyrics makes the Eels a really talented band.

You’ve probably heard their music in soundtracks for movies such as Shreck or American Beauty or in the series Scrubs and The O.C.

Beautiful Freak:

– My Beloved Monster
– Beautiful Freak

Electro-Shock Blues
– The Medication is Wearing Off
– P.S You Rock My World

Blinking Lights and Other Revelations (6th album)
– From Which I Came, A Magic World
– Hey Man (Now You’re Really Living)

So there I put some of my favourite stuff up, but they have 7 albums and they are all great in their own way.

Eels

Well I’m off to get studying for my finals, and then try and find some grandmother’s swimming suit for a house/beach party.

What are you guys up to during this weekend?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Eels is great!

I recently got into Daniel Johnston, Eels covered one of his songs ‘Living Life’, check it out!

Comment by uka




Leave a Reply

